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Sports sponsorship infuses more emotion into your brand than any other communication platform.
Are you thinking about getting into sports sponsorship? We have the answers to any questions you might have. As Germany’s leading sporting rights marketing agency, we would be happy to introduce you to the world of sports sponsorship.
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Sponsorship brings long-term benefits to your brand.
Sports sponsorship lets brands create emotional content and become an integral part of fans’ daily lives. 86% of the decision-makers mention that sponsoring improved brand and corporate communication.
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The majority of sports sponsorship activities are beneficial to the corporate objective of ‘social sustainability’, in which we strive to be the top employer.
Georg van der Vorst Ehem. Former Head of Sponsoring, Marketing and Media Cooperation, Deutsche Bahn -
Our partnership with the BVB has helped us reach our target group.
Stefan Haver Head of Corporate Communication and the Board Office, EVONIK INDUSTRIES AG -
Sports sponsorship has always been an integral component of Commerzbank’s marketing activities.
Uwe Hellmann Head of Brand Management, Commerzbank AG -
Authentic and thus credible sports sponsorship is beneficial when establishing a brand and retaining customers.
Philipp Koch-Gombert Sponsoring Consultant, REWE Group -
Sports sponsorship – especially football sponsorship – is highly relevant to Opel’s brand awareness and profiling activities.
Michael K. Theis Former Head of Brand Communication and Sponsoring, Adam Opel AG -
Football is perfect for us because it’s equally exciting to men, women and children, it strongly champions community, and it is a major topic of discussion at the dinner table.
Alexander Schmolling Head of Marketing, Popp Feinkost GmbH
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Our partners’ communication objectives.
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TV advertising for your brand in the stadium.
Football stadiums offer a range of possibilities to place your brand on TV. We would be happy to consult you in person on the most effective advertising material for your purposes. We have put together a short overview of the different options for TV advertising here.
- Premium TV perimeter board, 1st row
The premium TV perimeter board is the largest and most prominent medium for advertising in the stadium. It enables direct placement at the edge of the pitch along the sidelines and behind the goals, totalling over 150 m in length.
- TV perimeter board, 2nd row
The TV perimeter board in the second row is nearly as visible and effective as the premium TV perimeter board. It is most prominent along the sidelines, behind the first perimeter board row.
- Power pack, 1st & 2nd rows
The power pack takes the TV perimeter board image to the next level by utilising both the first and second rows simultaneously, thus doubling the advertising space for your message. The added height makes this a particularly attractive option for your advertisement.
- Cam Carpet
The cam carpets are printed carpets that appear to stand on either side of the goal like 3D standing displays thanks to a special printing method. They are prominently shown on TV, thus allowing your advertisement to reach a maximum number of viewers.
- Mini TV perimeter board
The mini TV perimeter board is placed directly on the pitch behind the sidelines. This places your advertisement prominently along the sideline during close-ups, throw-ins and charges. A small solution with big results.
- Electronic corner board
Electronic corner boards are placed at each of the corner flags and can often be booked separately from the large TV perimeter boards. This increases visibility of your brand during corner kicks.
- 3D standing displays
The 3D standing displays are specially produced small “boards” behind or beside the goals. The camera angle and the printing method used create a 3D effect, like the cam carpets.
- Virtual Advertising
Targeted, individual, emotional, qualitative. The answer to the megatrends of globalisation and individualisation.
- Premium TV perimeter board, 1st row
- TV perimeter board, 2nd row
- Power pack, 1st & 2nd rows
- Cam Carpet
- Mini TV perimeter board
- Electronic corner board
- 3D standing displays
- Virtual Advertising
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The premium class of football sponsorship.
With your rights package, which is tailored to your individual corporate and communication objectives, you can get close to the action and reach your target group and fans 24/7 via the relevant channels.
Strong local presence, and active across Germany. Your premium class sponsorship will generate billions of TV, digital and print contacts per season.
The main sponsor is part of an exclusive circle of companies in the Bundesliga. As the club’s most important partner, its logo is featured on the jersey breast.
The sleeve partner is one of the club’s top 3 partners. Its logo is featured on the left sleeve of the jersey.
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TV perimeter board rotation types in the stadium.
The TV perimeter boards in the stadium can run your advertisement in different rotations. A range of displays can be used for your advertisement according to the mode. The length of each rotation is 30 seconds. The LED perimeter video board technology offers you diverse and versatile types of animation, which we can regularly adapt to your communication campaign using state-of-the-art technology.
Only one sponsor is visible on the entire perimeter board area. This type of rotation creates an uncluttered, homogeneous image with high contact intensity and long communication opportunities.
The TV perimeter board area is divided into four sections, and four sponsors are visible within a single rotation. This type of rotation generates visibility and contacts with an optimal combination of quality and quantity.
The TV perimeter board area is divided into four sections, with two sponsors each occupying two sections in a single rotation. This type of rotation also generates visibility and contacts with an optimal combination of quality and quantity.
With this type of display, up to 14 sponsors are featured in perimeter board sections of equal size at the same time. The focus is on the brand’s logo or slogan. This rotation guarantees high contact figures as each sponsor is visible in every sequence.
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How we quantify your brand sponsorship.
Broadcast time (BT)
The broadcast time, is the time in which the event or club to be evaluated, is featured in coverage. This includes press conferences, sports magazines, training segments and live matches.
Actual playing time (APT)
The actual playing time is a subset of the broadcast time. This only includes broadcast segments in which clips from the match are shown. In other words, the APT is the time when the ball is rolling.
Sponsorship contacts
Calculation of the sponsorship contacts compares the visibility achieved by an advertising message for the sponsor to the audience share of broadcast (in millions) in which the sponsor was visible. For this purpose, the reporting period is standardised to 30 seconds. This is always calculated per broadcast.
Example:
Brand X gets 120 seconds of brand visibility on the Saturday evening broadcast of Sportschau, which reaches 4 million television viewers.
- 120 seconds/30 seconds comprises 4 adverts (30 seconds each)
- 4 adverts x 4 million viewers corresponds to 16 million contacts
- Brand X therefore reaches 16 million contacts through its presence on the Saturday evening broadcast of Sportschau
Cost-per-thousand (CPM)
This calculation indicates the price the sponsor has paid to reach 1,000 people in relation to its visibility at a certain sponsorship amount. The results specify the CPM a sponsor can reach with its activities.
Example:
A sponsor pays 1.2 million euros for its sponsorship activities and generates 1.8 billion sponsorship contacts.
(1.2 million euros x 1,000)/1.8 billion = 0.67 euros)
Advertising Value (AVE)
In this form of calculation, the visibility achieved for the sponsor is related to the advertising prices of the broadcast in which the visibility was achieved. The advertising prices are calculated using appropriate TCPs and official reaches, or are taken from official price lists from the broadcaster or their marketer.
Example:
Brand X is visible for a total of 120 seconds in a broadcast for which a classic TV ad would cost 2,000 euros per 30 seconds.
- 120 seconds/30 seconds comprises 4 adverts (30 seconds each)
- 4 adverts x 2,000 euros = 8,000 euros
- Brand X would have to pay 8,000 euros for the same amount of visibility in the broadcast. Brand X’s presence in this broadcast therefore has an advertising value of 8,000 euros.
Quality Index (Qi)
Calculating the advertising value QI ensures the quality of sponsor visibility is taken into account when compiling sponsors’ data. The advertising value QI measures sponsor visibility according to five criteria. The purpose of this weighting is to evaluate the sponsors’ presence not just quantitatively, but also qualitatively.
The following factors influence the QI:
- The size of the advertisement on the screen (on-screen share)
- The position of the advertisement on the screen (central vs edge)
- The number of advertisements or logos of a brand visible at one time
- The average length of an advertisement’s visibility sequence
- An impact factor is defined, based on qualitative market research studies, that gives advertisements with greater influence (e.g. jersey, LED perimeter boards) more weight than advertisements without as much influence (e.g. static perimeter boards) on the viewer.
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TV broadcasting formats.
The Bundesliga broadcasts your brand on TV 24/7.
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Hospitality – your brand in B2B.
More than just an admission ticket.
Exclusive catering, personal service and VIP seating with the best view of the pitch.
What is Hospitality?
A Hospitality/VIP invitation is more than just a ticket: it’s your access to an exclusive fan club and business network. From employee incentivisation to maintaining or forming business relationships, Hospitality is diverse and effective. 72% of VIP guests generate business through the networks in the Hospitality areas. Take advantage of this unique platform by diving into the fervour surrounding the sport and give your customers, business partners and employees an experience they won’t forget.
Questions and answers about the topic hospitality, compliance and criminal law can be found here.
Business seats
Business seats combine the exclusive seating in the Hospitality area with the exclusive seating in the stadium’s main stand. You have your regular seat inside and outside, as well as access to all of the amenities about two hours before and after the match. This includes high-end catering, B2B networking opportunities and, on request, your own table and parking space. You will also be in close proximity to the players and club officials.
Boxes
An exclusive box for up to 20 people is like your personal living room in the stadium. You and your guests can enjoy an open view of the pitch from your box’s glass window, with a door leading straight to your balcony seating. You can arrange your box to best present your brand, and even place your logo on the front of the box so that it can be seen from inside the stadium. High-end catering, personal service, access to all of the other Hospitality areas, and personal parking are included, and your box is furnished with television sets. You can even use your box for company events, meetings and more on non-match days.
Virtual stadium tour
Experience our clubs’ Hospitality areas on a 360° tour and get a first impression of the exclusive atmosphere.
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We are the digital sport agency.
Our aim is to create the best digital fan experiences in sport together with rights holders and sponsors. We combine our extensive sponsorship expertise with the digital expertise of developers, strategists, data specialists, ad server experts, campaign managers and editors.
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Club portfolio.
SPORTFIVE arranges valuable partnerships across the spectrum of sport marketing – from stadium advertising and jersey sponsorships to hospitality programmes and media rights. Our core business in Germany is football. We are presently a proud overall marketing partner of 16 professional football clubs, including Borussia Dortmund and Hamburger SV.
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Sport sponsorship from A to Z
GLOSSARY
- a
- Ad impression (AI)
- Ad server
- Advertising media/TV contacts
- Advertorial
- Asset
- Ad impression (AI)Ad impressions are advertisement retrievals on an ad server.
- Ad serverData-based system for the provision, management and measuring of online advertisement space (e.g. from a club website).
- Advertising media/TV contactsTV reach > time of coverage in relation to the number of viewers.
- AdvertorialAdvertorial combines the words advertising and editorial; adverts are designed in a way that the reader does not recognise them as such, conveying the credibility of an editorial. Springer Gabler Verlag (publisher): Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon, keyword: advertorial
- AssetValuable good, advertising right.
- b
- B2B
- B2C
- Banner advertising
- Barter deal
- Branded content
- B2BBusiness to business (business contacts/network).
- B2CBusiness to customer (e.g. sponsor to the customer/fan).
- Banner advertisingBanner advertising, or display advertising, is a relatively broad definition for all types of online advertising that can be inserted into normal online content. This is the most common form of advertising on the internet.
- Barter dealWhen one company exchanges goods/services for the goods/services of another company.
- Branded contentContent (film or video) uploaded to the internet with the purpose of establishing a positive association with a brand.
- c
- Campaign
- Consumer Journey
- Content
- Conversion rate
- Corporate identity (CI)
- CRM system
- Crossmedial
- Customer Journey
- CampaignEntirety of advertisements and their implementation in selected media and advertising areas in a designated time frame. Source: Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon
- Consumer JourneyThe Consumer Journey defines the individual stages a consumer goes through before deciding to buy a product and beyond. Quelle: https://sem-deutschland.de
- ContentContent encompasses all forms of online material. This includes text, images, videos and other formats. Source: https://onlinemarketing.de/lexikon/definition-content
- Conversion rateThe conversion rate is the ratio of website visitors to completed transactions. It is also used to determine how many visitors have made a so-called lead. The number of visits and the number of transactions made are used to calculate the conversion rate.
- Corporate identity (CI)The identity/recognisability of a company/brand based on its brand image, colour, language, presence, etc.
- CRM systemCustomer relationship management (internal customer and project database).
- CrossmedialOf or pertaining to various platforms/media (TV, online, print, etc.).
- Customer JourneyThe Customer Journey defines the individual stages that an existing customer goes through before deciding to buy a product and beyond. Source: https://sem-deutschland.de
- d
- Digital channels
- Digital channelsThe entirety of a club’s digital channels (website, app & social media).
- e
- Engagement rate
- Exclusivity
- Engagement rateThe engagement rate measures interaction on social media fan pages. It shows the percentage of fans that react to updates/posts by commenting, sharing or liking and serves as a qualitative metric for communities or fan groups.
- ExclusivityWhen a sponsor is granted exclusivity with a rights holder (club/association), no other company from the same industry can be a sponsor with this rights holder.
- f
- Face
- Feed
- FaceSalesperson responsible for a customer.
- FeedSpecific groups of markets (e.g. DACH region) in which a sponsorship, for example, is booked -> e.g. TV feed (EMEA, DACH, North America, etc.) with virtual advertising.
- g
- h
- Hospitality
- HospitalityHospitality is the term used for any services in and around the VIP areas at stadiums.
- i
- Imagefit
- Inventory
- ImagefitLink/coordination between advertising rights and customer profile.
- InventoryThe total quantity of available opportunities/placements for online advertisements on a website, with a marketer or in a network.
- j
- k
- KPI
- KPIKey performance indicator; metrics (such as TV contacts) by which the performance of a particular activity is measured
- l
- m
- Main sponsor
- Microsite
- Mobile header
- Mobile live content presenter
- Mobile splash
- Main sponsorThe main sponsor is part of an exclusive circle of companies in the Bundesliga. As the club’s most important partner, its logo is featured on the jersey breast.
- MicrositeA microsite is a small website that often serves as a supplement to a larger internet presence. These microsites often host club campaigns – such as polls or prize draws – in cooperation with a sponsor. (Source: https://www.omkt.de/microsite/)
- Mobile headerIncorporation of logo in the header of a club’s mobile app (often only possible as the app’s presenter). Visible upon every page impression.
- Mobile live content presenterPresentation/sponsorship in a single content section in the live ticker of a club’s app, for example when a goal is scored or a player is substituted.
- Mobile splashIncorporation of logo on the home page of a club’s mobile app (often only possible as the app’s presenter).
- n
- Naming right
- Naming rightThe naming right refers to a specific exclusive sponsor’s right to name a stadium, viewing area or similar feature.
- o
- Outfitter
- OutfitterA club’s outfitter is a company that provides clothing and equipment like jerseys, training attire and shoes.
- p
- Page impression (PI)
- Persons reached
- Point of sale (POS)
- Power pack
- Presenting
- Page impression (PI)A page impression refers to every time a page is opened. An internet user visiting four pages of a website corresponds to four page impressions.
- Persons reachedIndicates the reach of a post on social media pages like Facebook and Twitter, and thus how many people were exposed to a certain piece of content.
- Point of sale (POS)Where a product is sold (store, stadium shop, etc.).
- Power packThe video animation is designed to make the first and second rows of perimeter boards appear as one large TV perimeter board.
- PresentingA presenting refers to media support by the respective rights holder. The sponsor is highlighted in the segment through the integration of a logo, an advertisement or text (e.g. “brought to you by”).
- q
- Quality index (QI)
- Quality index (QI)Weighted advertising value, taking into account factors like size and visibility of the sponsorship.
- r
- Re-Live
- Rights holder
- Rotation
- Re-LiveRepeat of a live or delayed TV broadcast.
- Rights holderA club, association, team, person, etc. who holds the rights to advertisements, for example, that another person or agency markets.
- RotationThe disposition of online advertisements on a website or within a network at the discretion of the marketer. The advertisement is displayed according to available inventory and does not have to appear consistently throughout the duration of a campaign or on all formats.
- s
- Section sponsorship
- Sichtbarkeitszeit (On-Screen)
- Section sponsorshipThe sponsorship in certain section of a website, such as the news section or the youth team page. A special type of advertisement is often used for this and placed in the heading.
- Sichtbarkeitszeit (On-Screen)As soon as a sponsor or an advertising medium meets the defined analysis criteria, the temporal presence on the screen is taken into account in the analysis. The visibility time shown in the results report is ultimately the sum of all measured screen presence. Sponsor presences are always displayed separately according to advertising media. The sum of the visibility figures thus results in gross visibility. This is a common procedure according to the FASPO conventions. It is also possible to display visibility "net", e.g. by sponsor or advertising material.
- t
- Tagging
- Testimonial
- TaggingThe designation of projects, customers or topics in a CRM system.
- TestimonialA public person who explicitly promotes a brand/company.
- u
- Ultimate Moment of Truth
- Unique selling proposition (USP)
- Unique user
- Ultimate Moment of TruthUltimate moment of truth (UMOT) describes the moment when consumers share their experiences with products in social media. Source: https://digitalwiki.de
- Unique selling proposition (USP)What makes a product or service stick out among other competitors.
- Unique userThe indicated reach of online content (e.g. a club website or app). This refers to the number of different internet users that viewed certain website content within a given time frame.
- v
- Virtual advertising (VA)
- Virtual advertising (VA)The incorporation of digital content on the TV perimeter board that differs from the national TV signal (feed) in other TV markets with a different feed.
- w
- Whitepaper
- WhitepaperAn overview of services, standards and technology. This includes all user descriptions, case studies and market research findings.
- x
- y
- z
- Zero Moment of Truth
- Zero Moment of TruthThe Zero Moment of Truth (ZMOT) describes the moment when a potential customer makes the decision to buy a product online. It follows the moment in the buying process when the customer researches the product online before buying it. Source: unternehmer.de
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